About commission

The Commission for the Prevention of Corruption is an autonomous and independent state body, similarly to the Human Rights Ombudsman, the Information Commissioner, or the Court of Audit. Despite its being a public-sector institution, the Commission is not subordinate to, nor does it receive instructions or guidelines for its work from the Government or the National Assembly. It its activities, it is bound only by the Constitution and the law. The Commission is not a detection and prosecution body in pre-trial or trial criminal proceedings, but it does possess certain executive, supervisory, and investigative (administrative) powers.

The independence of the Commission is further ensured by the manner of the selection of its leadership, which is appointed by the President of the Republic following a recommendation by a special selection board with members from each of the three branches of power and the civil society. In the narrow sense, the Commission consists of three members – Chief Commissioner and two Deputies -, who decide on substantive matters at sessions; more broadly, the Commission is a state body with leadership and employees in the Secretariat, the Investigation and Oversight Bureau, and the Centre for Prevention and the Integrity of Public Service.