Executive team

The head of the CPC is the Chief Commissioner who represents CPC and manages its work. He has two deputies and together they form the decision making panel of the CPC. The CPC decides on substantial matters (related to corruption, conflict of interest, breach of ethics, adopting recommendations, etc) as a collegial body with majority of votes.

Chief Commissioner and two deputies are appointed by the President of the Republic of Slovenia following an open recruitment procedure and nomination by a special selection board. Candidates, which must meet professional and integrity standards, are screened and interviewed by a selection board comprising a representative of the Government, the National Assembly, non-governmental organisations, the Independent Judicial Council and the Independent Council of Officials. The Chief Commissioners’ term of office is six years, the deputies' five. The can serve up to two terms in office. Prior to the expiration of the mandate, they can only be dismissed from office by the President (on his/her own motion or on the motion of the Parliament), if they act in breach of the Constitution or the law.

Chief Commissioner

Boris Štefanec

Chief Commissioner of the Commission Boris Štefanec, legal attorney, a former prosecutor and judge, started his career in a "Pomurka" company as a legal advisor after he graduated at the Faculty of Law at the University of Ljubljana in 1978. He continued as a Deputy Public Prosecutor at the Public Prosecutor's Office in Murska Sobota. In 1990 he was appointed as a judge at the District Court in Murska Sobota. Frrom mid-1992 up to his current appointment of the Chief Commissioner of the Commission for the Prevention of Corruption he worked in his attorney's office in Murska Sobota.

He is married to Edita and has a son Boris Jr. He is a passionate hunter and a great chess lover - in his book collection he has several hundreds of chess books. He is a big fan of music, particularly classic rock and jazz. 


Deputy Chief Commissioners

Dr. Igor Lamberger

Mr. Igor Lamberger, PhD is a former investigator of economic crime and corruption (1995 – 2005). He was engaged in the making and implementing of the national economic crime management strategy (adopted by the Government in 2003). He took part in numerous intergovernmental working groups, held close cooperation with the State Prosecutor's Office and engaged in creation of amendments of the national criminal legislation.

In 2005 he has withdrawn from the Police forces and became a lecturer of criminology at the Slovenian Police Academy. He is also an external lecturer at the Faculty of Criminal Justice and Security of the University of Maribor.

Mr. Lamberger holds a PhD from the Faculty of Economy of the University of Ljubljana which he received for a thesis on a model of protection of e-payment systems from abuse.

Dr. Alma Sedlar

Alma Sedlar, Professor of Philosophy and Pedagogy and Doctor of Science was born in 1975. At the Faculty of Humanities of the University of Maribor she graduated with the theses “Censorship and Hate Speech in the Media” at the Department of Philosophy and “Unaccompanied Children and School” at the Department of Pedagogy. She obtained her PhD at AMEU – Faculty for Postgraduate Studies of Humanities with the dissertation entitled “Protection of Whistleblowers, Prevention of Corruption and Representation of Whistleblowing in the Media”.

From 1990 to 2014 she engaged in investigation journalism. As a journalist she cooperated with various media (NT&RC, Mladina, Večer, RTV Slovenia …). From 2008 to 2011 she was the deputy chief editor and chief editor of the Slovenian magazine Jana and from 2011 to 2012 she was the chief editor of the Slovenian magazine Obrazi. From 2009 to 2012 she was the president of the Slovenian Journalists’ Union of the former leading Slovenian magazine publisher Delo revije. In 2007 she was awarded the “Brotherhood of Truth/Consortium Veritatis” for the outstanding journalist achievements. From 2008 to 2014 she held two mandates as an elected member of the Journalists’ Honorary Court of Arbitration.

At the Commission she covers the area of prevention as the Second Deputy Chief Commissioner.